Anybody who has gone off sugar completely ???

Options

Replies

• emyishardcore
    emyishardcore Posts: 352 Member
    Options
    All I have to say is that I use organic honey and no sugar and I'm fine.
  • Wonkermann
    Options
    there is hope.

I studied art, and i make my living partly from drawings & photoshop and i also have my own little business making cakes. one job leaves me looking at the human body and manipulating it, the other leaves me surrounded by sweet foods all day! no wonder i have body image issues!

i was one of those people who couldn't be in the same house as chocolate without eating it. the only chocolate that my brain accepted as off-limits was the chocolate i used for work. i remember devouring a whole tin of Cadbury's Roses because i would just pick them off one by one. i couldn't stop. i remember buying chocolate for someone's birthday, and then eating them all and having to buy another box.

i used to go on a diet and tell myself i had to quit chocolate, but of course any diet built on never eating chocolate again is doomed to failure because you will eat chocolate again in your life. i had to learn moderation. in the beginning of my diet i was eating 1750 calories a day. a typical breakfast would include some oats and a mars bar.

it was a high sugar diet, but i was staying within my calories/carbs & fat so i lost weight. after a while the anxiety of "you can never eat chocolate again" went away, because i realised that i could have the chocolate and be thin, i just couldnt devour vast quantities of it in one go.

i also started to realise that if i had chocolate with a meal i would be hungry again in a couple of hours. soon i started making better choices. i could still have the chocolate if the craving got really bad, but if i wasnt craving it i would just go with a high protein option to stay fuller for longer.