How to not take this as an insult...

Options
msarro
msarro Posts: 2,748 Member
I want to vent this a little bit. I'm now the 'thinnest' person in my entire family. On Easter while visiting, my brother remarked jokingly "well you got the thin genes in the family." He weighs almost 500lbs, can barely walk, has diabetes, and eats pretty much everything you shouldn't eat - and lots of it. Whenever he talks about losing weight, he chalks it up to genetics; he refuses to see that he DOES have a choice.

His comment has been eating away at me. I laughed it off then, but I've been busting my @$$ for more than 3 years now to get where I am. Its not genetics. Its hard freaking work and determination. And I'm trying to find a way to constructively tell him that. Its really starting to bother me.

Ideas?

Replies

• VictorianJade
    VictorianJade Posts: 705 Member
    Options
    "I didn't get the thin genes. I got the 'get-off-my-*kitten*-and-fit-the-skinny-jeans-genes'"
  • lotusfromthemud
    lotusfromthemud Posts: 5,335 Member
    Options
    I think the best thing is to say it exactly the way you said it here.

Essentially, say that genetics (by definition) works this way: your family all has the same genes. If it's genetics he wants to use as an excuse, he can't.

I would be really honest about the amount of diet change and time-consuming hard work. It ain't easy...and you did it through WORK, not through some bizarre genetic impossibility.

I had a similar confrontation with someone who said "well, it's easy for you...you're just athletic." After I finished laughing so hard I peed myself, I pulled the before pic out of my purse and set her straight.
  • savvystephy
    savvystephy Posts: 4,151 Member
    Options
    Your brother most likely was joking because he is jealous of your accomplishments. However, it won't be until he can get the motivation to just do it to lose the weight also. As you probably know.

I am sure it was his way to compliment you. :flowerforyou: