Dr is worried I am getting a eating disorder???

Options

Replies

• mmapags
    mmapags Posts: 8,934 Member
    Options
    Thanks for the advise everyone- I only eat a tablespoon of different foods as I don't feel hungry,
    and feel freaked out if there is to much food in front of me- I know its wrong ,and not feeling hungry makes it seem like its okay

I suffer from depression so its pretty easy for me to not eat when I feel depressed-
    moving forward I will try to increase my calories, and try to snack a bit

Thank you again for all your kind words
    Cheron

I'm no expert but that sounds like an eating disorder.

Agreed. There is too much happening on an emotional level connected to eatiing. I'd listen to your doctor. BTW, people with eating disorders never think they have one. You are likely the least able to discern this.
  • thekyleo
    thekyleo Posts: 632 Member
    Options
    definitely an eating disorder
  • MyChocolateDiet
    MyChocolateDiet Posts: 22,281 Member
    Options
    Ummmmmm? Why would our opinion matter more than your Dr.s? You have 3 kids relying on you. Please take good care of yourself and take your doctors opinions into consideration.
  • concordancia
    concordancia Posts: 5,320 Member
    Options
    Doctors want to be on the outlook for eating disorders before they affect your health. As such, a rule of thumb is to be extremely wary of anyone consistently eating below 1000 calories a day. You certainly fit that and your doctor is right to be concerned.

Being freaked out by s,eyeing food in front of you is an even stronger indicator that you need to seek help from someone specializing in eating disorders. Please do no wait until you are having secondary health problems!
  • now_or_never13
    now_or_never13 Posts: 1,575 Member
    Options