When I am running my milnd tells me to stop

Options

Replies

• bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    Mony Mony by Billy Idol can usually get me through that spot. I can't be stil if Mony Mony is playing.
  • 2shoes123
    2shoes123 Posts: 204 Member
    Options
    Sticking it out and fighting against those thoughts usually leads to the greatest feeling of accomplishment. I don't run, I started going to spinning classes and have to fight myself to stay on the bike. When it's over I feel like I can do anything!
  • scottb81
    scottb81 Posts: 2,538 Member
    Options
    Its like as soon as my legs start to hurt then is when I start thinking I need to stop.
    I've been running for several years and my mind still says to stop when it starts hurting. That will never go away. You just have to ignore it.

What does change is how long and how hard you can go before the mind wants to stop. That gets much longer and much harder over time.
  • llkilgore
    llkilgore Posts: 1,169 Member
    Options
    How far into the run does this feeling hit you? I've been running for nearly 2 years and I STILL find the first mile to be difficult if I let myself think about what I'm doing. The second mile is easier, and by the third I feel like I can run for hours - and sometimes do. For me distraction is the answer. I maintain enough situational awareness to stay safe, but otherwise don't think about what I'm doing. I think about anything but running for that first mile.
  • Oishii
    Oishii Posts: 2,675 Member
    Options
    I read somewhere that our bodies panic and send pain signals long before we're in any danger of damaging ourselves. Maybe that knowledge can help.
  • Melissaol
    Melissaol Posts: 952 Member
    Options
    Im starting week 3 Day 1 of the C210K app. So im not running to long. But Sometimes i wonder if I should just run as long as I can and then walk for a little time and then run as long as I can.
  • bluefox9er