sitting on your butt at work for 8 hours

Options
herky
herky Posts: 68 Member
So I'm a college student, but I'm spending my summer working 40 hours a week at a publishing company. This means I sit at a desk and stare at a computer screen for 8 hours a day. (which I happen to be at right now :happy: ) I know tons of you out there probably have been doing this for years, and I know that this is in my future after college, so how do you deal with it? I feel like I don't burn a single calorie while I'm here and that my butt will eventually be glued to this chair.

Any tips on how to maybe be a little more active at work? I get up often to fill my water and go to the bathroom and just stretch my legs a bit, but any advice would be helpful!!

Replies

• Amandac6772
    Amandac6772 Posts: 1,311 Member
    Options
    I try to be as active as I can at home. I walk at lunch sometimes. I went from a job being on my feet all day to sitting all day and gained 20 lbs the first year. It doesn't help that these people ALWAYS have junk to eat and want to share everything with you which is really nice but I just can't do it.

A
  • jrich1
    jrich1 Posts: 2,408 Member
    Options
    I work out after work.. I work computer support and I am in the same scenerio, you can try to walk around some, but its gonna be mainly exercise outisde the job
  • fatbegone2010
    Options
    I'm in the same position. Sometimes I just wanna drive a pencil through my neck...lol. Since starting my job in (Feb) I've actually gained 10 pounds which is very sad, as oppossed to my last job where I was on my feet for 8 hours moving around and still had energy by the time I got home to actually work out and managed to lose 19 pounds. But yes, i get up and use the restroom, fill up my water bottle etc. So you're not alone. But sometimes when no one is in the restroom I do 2 sets of 10, squats, and about 30 jumping jacks. Sounds crazy but it does burn a few calories. =) Hope that helps!!!
  • lindsaythurmond