No one likes a chunky Fireman...

Options
2»

Replies

• csnyder0007
    csnyder0007 Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    That job as a truck driver probably made it difficult for you. I had a friend who became a firefighter, and he lost crazy weight just from the job. I drive a truck for my job too, but i'm constantly moving, in and out of the truck. But i know those guys with the tractor trailers always have it tough. But yeah, now that you gave up that gig, you'll definitely see the pounds drop! Good luck!

Oh heck yeah, I was an OTR driver and it was hell on the waistline. It's tough to overcome 11 hours in a seated position and what it does to one's metabolism.

The firefighter gig is a part time job right now. 100 hours or so a month. We are a small rural system and most of what we do 95% is EMS. I'm a Medic so I spend far more time starting IV's than I do fighting fires. I interview for full time sometime in May. I'm really hoping I get the full time slot this go round. If not, I'll just keep plugging along until I do.

The weight I've already lost has made a huge difference. My knees don't pop anymore, I can do CPR without getting tired, I can drive my OP's Captain crazy asking for new, smaller uniforms. :)
  • Mustang_Susie
    Mustang_Susie Posts: 7,045 Member
    Options
    Welcome Chad!

My hubby is a Fire Lieutenant/paramedic and has been on the job for 22 years.

I will echo what others have said about sleep deprivation, stress and weight issues.

It's a tough job but you can be fit.

Everybody likes a fireman :smile:
  • goodtimezzzz
    goodtimezzzz Posts: 640 Member
    Options
    welcome..you are gonna be GREAT!! lets kick some *kitten* together BRO!!
    Kristian Rocco nyc
  • csnyder0007
    Options