Running apps....HELP

Options
13»

Replies

• Caerphilly75
    Caerphilly75 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I use icardio, it allows me to map and track both my runs and bike rides.

It never crashes and rarely loses signal.

I use to use Nike GPS+ for run and it pretty good as well.
  • RunForChai
    RunForChai Posts: 238 Member
    Options
    I use Map My Run.
  • 55in13
    55in13 Posts: 1,091 Member
    Options
    One more reply with another hat on...

I am a software developer and while I primarily develop on other platforms I have messed around with Android a little. GPS is a system service. One app will not get a better signal than others. If they are inaccurate, it is a function of how they relate all the data points and correct when they have more. Consumer grade GPS chips are not super accurate but good programming algorithms can correct that given enough data and some reasonable assumptions (like you are not moving around erratically). However, if you are not getting GPS at all, that is a function of the unit and/or your location an/or buildings/trees/weather/etc blocking satellites and another app won't get a signal either. If two apps are both getting GPS data and one is more accurate, that is a good comparison and it is a better app. But if one doesn't seem to pick up GPS, that is not the app's fault (assuming it does work sometimes).
  • stu1102
    stu1102 Posts: 129 Member
    Options
    Endomondo simply brilliant
  • Philllbis
    Philllbis Posts: 801 Member
    Options
    I became a very serious runner and ended up buying a GPS watch. It was the Nike with TOMTOM GPS, and it works better than any app I had on my smart phone,

My phone would distract me too much as I was running, so now just using that watch my workouts have felt more enjoyable and more productive.

It was not as much as a lot of the GPS watches out there, but if you walk/run frequently I highly recommend it.

+1