"Obsession" Causing Problems

Options
Hi,

This is quite a hard problem to explain, but I really need some advice on it.

Basically, I have been using MFP for around 6 months on and off, but have really been focusing myself for the last month. I use my own weird version of calorie cycling to hit an average of my TDEE-20% (normally cals are varied but low during the week, and higher and varied at weekends, but average about 1700). I can only go to the gym during the week due to living arrangements, so normally squeeze 6 classes (ranging from circuits to barbell conditioning to spin) in the 4 days I can go to the gym. I haven't lost weight quickly (but I'm only trying to lose 10kg anyway so wasn't expecting miracles!), but have been feeling a lot more healthy in general.

However, this lifestyle is now starting to cause problems with friends (and sometimes family). Because I can only gym during the week, I make these days my 'healthy, low cal' days and I hate to miss them. Especially if I'm missing gym for a meal out with friends. Its at the point where I will find reasons that I can't go out so that I don't miss the gym. I also have started to pretend to some people I am eating more than I am because I am getting judgement from them.

The main problem is that I am now feeling cut off from the friendship group I have because I rarely have a day that I can meet up with them. Or I have days like today-they are going out for food and drinks, and I want to go but also go to the gym. I have cancelled one of my classes, but will still be too late for the 'food' part of the evening so am only going for drinks. This has still caused an issue with some of them who think I should be able to skip one day if needed.

Sorry for the ramble...I know I sound like a freak but really don't know who is right in this situation!

Replies

• jsbieniek
    jsbieniek Posts: 76 Member
    Options