Can I still have buttered popcorn at the movies??

Options
nowic
nowic Posts: 171 Member
So My family is going to the movies this weekend, and we always order popcorn w/butter. Yes I am wanting to lose weight and get healthy. If we do this once in a while is it a big deal, or do I need to stay away from it completely? I really do want to make a lifestyle change, Im still learning :smile:

Replies

• islandnutshel
    islandnutshel Posts: 1,143 Member
    Options
    Eating a large bag of popcorn at some Canadian movie theatres is like eating almost a quarter kilogram of potato chips, a paper suggests.

Read more: http://www.cbc.ca/health/story/2009/11/19/popcorn-movie-theatre-salt-fat.html#ixzz11slPs8SE
  • dtcauley4
    dtcauley4 Posts: 110 Member
    Options
    Let me start off by saying this my OPINION!!!

If it is only every once in a while...I say have a little. If you sit there smelling it and watching everyone else eat it you will want it BAD!
    It is ALOT of calories and ALOT of fat, so don't have to much..or try eating it without the butter.
    Have fun at the movies!
  • neasy23
    neasy23 Posts: 47
    Options
    My opinion here comes in the form of the psychological effects of weight loss vs how this will effect your actual loss. Although my assumption is that if you induldge a little extra on one day you will still loose. Here is what I would do about the popcorn...

1. Decide if there is a lower cal or lower fat substitute that will satisfy you. (popcorn from home, pretzels, no butter added.)

2. If there is not, I would say have a bit to satisfy the urge, just don't go overboard. Eat it slowly and enjoy it!
  • NutritionDivaRD
    NutritionDivaRD Posts: 467 Member
    Options