My diet pill confession: I don't use them to lose weight...

Options

Replies

• Carnivor0us
    Carnivor0us Posts: 1,752 Member
    Options
    ... I use diet pills to get an edge at my job.

Yep, that's right.

I'm a court reporter by profession. And I'm essentially taking Speed every morning (ephedrine) to give me a leg up at my job. Is it illegal? No. It's perfectly legal. Is it ethical? That's the question I'm struggling with. I am expected at my job to write, instantaneously, everything that people say in a legal setting. Sometimes, that's 250-300 words per minute for stretches of time on my little machine. Surely anything that helps me do my job to the best of my ability is a good thing; however, I feel like if anyone knew, they would use it as another nail in the coffin for my job. Court reporters are being eliminated elsewhere in North America and being replaced by tape recorders and typists. Ideally I get my speed up to the point where I can do television closed captioning (yes, if you didn't know, that's a real person doing your evening news captions live).

When I was in college, people knew that I was using them before tests. No one really discouraged it, but people did of course warn me about the health effects it could have on me. I know it's not healthy, and I know it would be far better if I could do my job at this level without the use of performance-enhancing drugs.

I don't know, just wanted to get this off my chest before i go to work this morning. Just wondering if anyone else uses strong stimulants like this to increase their work performance, and if so, how it affects you.

Undiagnosed ADHD?

I second this. I would take ephedrine long before I was later diagnosed with adult ADD. Now I take real speed and it works so very well.
  • Carnivor0us
    Options
    where do you get the epedrine from?