Setting activity level as sedentary

Options
Hi, newbie here! I set my activity level as sedentary because the only exercise I do other than walking places is 3 days a week at the gym which I log separately, and it's given me a net goal of 1200 calories per day. I don't mind doing this and have been around that figure for the last week, but does sedentary imply that you do literally NO exercise and sit on your bum all day? I was wondering whether I should be logging any walking I do. For example, I walk to university and back most days which is a 30 minute round trip which according to MFP would burn 92 calories if I walked at a leisurely pace. Is it reasonable to add these extra 92 calories or is that cheating? I just feel that 1300 calories would be better for me to eat well than 1200 on my non-gym days.

Replies

• piratesluver
    piratesluver Posts: 105 Member
    Options
    I read a good post a few months ago that says unless you sit down and do NOTHING else, you should NEVER be sedentary.

I have a desk job, but I'm pretty active (cleaning, walking around etc) so I set mine as lightly active, and only log when I do something out of the ordinary (weight lifting, jogging, etc)
  • 125KC
    125KC Posts: 71 Member
    Options
    I'm in the same boat, and I log my walking separately. I do use a fitbit which allocates the steps and calories burned.
  • rockmama72
    rockmama72 Posts: 815 Member
    Options
    I set mine at sedentary too because I work from home and am pretty much on my bum all day. I do track my walks, even if it's just a few blocks to the grocery store.
  • janeite1990
    janeite1990 Posts: 694 Member
    Options
    If you think 1300 is better, go for it. Most people consider 1200 too low anyway.