Has anyone broke their plateau by eating more??

Options

Replies

• fercar3000
    fercar3000 Posts: 286 Member
    Options
    I did from 1200 and less to 1500 -1700 and still losing

as a male why would you eat the min requirement for a women???

I mean seriously...even 1500-1700 is too little for a man...I eat 1700 a day and lose 3/4lb a week..

You are losing muscle mass with such a low calorie intake...

As a newbie I was following what the 1200 MFP was saying regarding calories intake
    my current goal is 1750 NET calories ... I'm aware that still a bit low but not by much
    my BMR = 1,792 Calories/day
  • jennk5309
    jennk5309 Posts: 206 Member
    Options
    Those people who are saying that plateaus don't exist or are excuses and increasing calories won't make you start losing weight again are not in YOUR body. I'm a pragmatist- I don't care what science is or is not behind the idea of increasing calories to start losing again- if you try it and it works for you, then awesome! Do what works, ignore the naysayers. Results are what counts!

And some people need to get off their high horses.
  • sweetpea03b
    sweetpea03b Posts: 1,124 Member
    Options
    Yep.... I was on a plateau for a few weeks... took a few days off from logging... probably ate up to 2000 and lost 2.5lbs the next week. I've read in many different places that the worst mistake you can make when trying to lose weight is keeping a routine... because your body adapts. Changing up your eating habits and exercise here and there keeps your body from getting too comfortable in its current state and keeps you losing.
  • SezxyStef
    SezxyStef Posts: 15,268 Member
    Options
    So for all those who broke a "plateau" how long was said plateau???

as well here is a good article from Mayo clinic that pretty much says exactly what the "opposing voice" is saying here...plateau = maintenance

http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/weight-loss/in-depth/weight-loss-plateau/art-20044615?pg=2