Heavy Lifting Goals for Ladies?

Options

Replies

• Aeramis13
    Aeramis13 Posts: 135 Member
    Options
    I've been doing Strong Lifts 5x5 for about 3 months, but was working out with weights prior to that (some on my own with no rhyme or reason & some with a trainer). I'm 5'2"-ish (maybe a little under depending on the doctor measuring me) and currently weigh about 170. I was eating at or over maintenance for a decent chunk of the last 2 months (due to food issues, not to bulk), and I found that eating at a deficit immediately lowered my lifting ability, hence the current vs. max reached amounts below.

Squat
    -goal: 250
    -current: 160
    -max reached: 185
    Bench
    -goal: 150
    -current: 80
    -max reached: 95
    Barbell Row
    -current: 105
    -max reached: 115
    Overhead Press:
    -current: 65
    -max reached: 80
    Deadlift:
    -goal: 250
    -current: 165
    -max reached: 175

Just got straps to aid with deadlifts and rows since my arthritis directly affects my gripping abilities. Will be using them for the first time tomorrow.
  • Sharon_C
    Sharon_C Posts: 2,132 Member
    Options
    I have a question for all of you weightlifting ladies. I can't seem to increase weight with my bench press. I've been doing it for about 6 months now and I haven't really gone up in weight. I started at 35 lbs and am now benching 65lbs. I was benching 75lbs but realized my form was bad because the weight was too heavy so went back down to 65.

I feel like I should have increased more by now.
  • Aliciaaah
    Aliciaaah Posts: 379 Member
    Options
    Do you try varying between barbell and dumbell? And other chest exercises, to help supplement in different ways? It might help add to strength. Also, have you tried switching up your routine? Like doing them earlier (and hopefully heavier) in your workout some days and later (and lighter if necessary) on other days?
  • juliewatkin
    juliewatkin Posts: 764 Member
    Options