1000 Calories a Day, Not Hungry - Bad/Ok?

Options
Keeping this short. I'm 25, female, not in great shape/don't currently exercise, 5'6, trying to lose 10 pounds (142 right now, aiming for about 132). I've been aiming to eat 1200 calories a day, and I've been doing pretty well, haven't been too hungry because I generally choose the right foods. I'm wondering if it's okay to eat less than 1200 calories per day if i'm just not feeling hungry? This usually happens when I have emotional distress, which I have right now. Will my body go straight into starvation mode making it harder for me to lose fat? Thanks for your advice.

Replies

• swertyqwerty
    swertyqwerty Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    What do you eat in a typical day? Just curious.

I'm not a doctor but I think you're probably fine. Just check in with yourself and if you ever feel uncomfortable up the calories.
  • donyellemoniquex3
    donyellemoniquex3 Posts: 2,384 Member
    Options
    bad bad bad bad bad
  • mallorytravels
    mallorytravels Posts: 86 Member
    Options
    Fruit, veggies, cheese, chicken, gluten free crackers - that's pretty much all I have been eating except for alcohol and some deviant nibbles. No bread or pasta or gluten anything. No refined sugar.
  • swertyqwerty
    swertyqwerty Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    You're eating really nutritious food. I think a few days at 1000 when you feel stressed is not going to kill you, but if it lasts more than that you should make yourself eat more healthy calories until you reach 1200.
  • keengkong
    keengkong Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    If you go down to 1000 calories a day and still feel fine, then go ahead and stick with it. If, however, you start to feel tired or get extremely hungry (perhaps after a few days of feeling fine), then go back to 1,200 per day.
  • kayla554
    kayla554 Posts: 99 Member
    Options