I have no will power - Suggestions?

Options
I am new to Myfitnesspal and just looking for a little push (or a big shove!). I know all about the healthy lifestyle, the food I should be eating, the portion sizes, etc. I dont seem to have the determination to stick with it. I go a few days few hours and then slip up. I am looking for a push of some sort, like that eye openng moment where i get the power to stick to it. Ansuggestion from anyone else who had the same will power issues?

Replies

• I_Will_End_You
    I_Will_End_You Posts: 4,397 Member
    Options
    You need discipline, not will power. "Will power" is great and all, but it tends to come and go. Work on being disciplined.
  • SherryTeach
    SherryTeach Posts: 2,836 Member
    Options
    You aren't serious yet. Walk through a hospital and take a look at seriously ill people who developed all sorts of life-ending illnesses at least in part because of lifestyle. Look around at family and friends as well. Make a list of reasons why you want to be at a normal weight and strong.

Then devise a food plan that is at a modest calorie deficit and doesn't cut out all the food you like. If your plan is reasonable, you don't feel like abandoning it.

No one else can do this for you. Motivation does not come from the outside. It's you and only you when you are walking past a table of cheesecake.
  • 212ackley
    212ackley Posts: 431 Member
    Options
    I am in the same boat! Willpower is my downfall :grumble: I do allow myself a sweet snack of some sort at night and I can manage that!

Try to find something healthier but similar to what you crave--
    if you are like me and have a sweet tooth go for fruit- I had blueberries with whipped cream last night :bigsmile: ,
    if you want crunch go for raw veggies (peppers,carrots, celery, cucumbers etc..),
    craving salty? have a bit of your favorite nuts or even cucumbers with a dash of salt...