Any runners 207lb and over running less than 30 mins for 5K?

TMattP
TMattP Posts: 49 Member
Hello.

I'm 207lb. I've lost over a stone with MFP and I've been running regularly since about October 2013 when I finished C25K.

My 5K times have been coming down steadily for the last month but I'm wondering if there is a limit I'm going to reach. I'm currently running around the 9:15 min mile mark with 28 minutes for a 5K.

A mate who's about 12 stone is running 26 minute 5K's and he's struggling to get any faster.

I know there are training plans to increase speed but I'm wondering if the bulk I'm carrying is simply going to stop any further improvement when I get to a certain level.

I'm interested in people's opinions on this subject.

Replies

• cwrig
    cwrig Posts: 190 Member
    Interesting topic.

Im currently at 235lbs (16.7 stones) and am halfway through C25K.

Im currently just trying to get to running longer than 15 minutes, but my pace when running is 12min/mile. So, Id be thrilled with you're time. My goal is to run a 5K in Sept at 30-31 minutes.
  • HealthWoke0ish
    HealthWoke0ish Posts: 2,078 Member
    I'm about 240lb. My last 5k was just under 27 minutes and my last half marathon was two hours, nine minutes. I know I could be faster if I worked at it, but I heretofore have been working only on endurance, not speed. Last week, I picked one of the free workouts on Runkeeper (that's the app I've been using) that's supposed to help with speed. It has me running "strides" in many/most of my workouts. Time will tell if it makes a difference. Good luck to you.
  • thavoice
    thavoice Posts: 1,326 Member
    ran 20:37 weighing 212. so whats the point of this thread? you can be bigger and still put out good times
  • TMattP
    Interesting topic.

Im currently at 235lbs (16.7 stones) and am halfway through C25K.