I have noticed some saying weight loss surgery is a tool.

Options

Replies

• Miss_1999
    Miss_1999 Posts: 747 Member
    Options
    I've seen several people just absolutely raising Cain about insurance (private and paid for by the government). I've only seen ONE person here who actually posted and *knew* how insurance works. I was a licensed insurance agent in the state of Tennessee from 1999 until 2004. Insurance is nothing more than a risk pool. You absolutely pay your premium every month for what you have- healthcare, car insurance, home owners, boat owners, renters, ect. What YOU pay is based upon your risk. Until the ACA passed, there were many Americans that were uninsurable through private insurance because they were "too great of a risk" to insure. Insurance companies aren't stupid. They're out there to make money. They're banking on the fact that those with low risk, aren't going to use their policies each month. Most healthy people only go for check-ups once a year. They aren't on prescription medication, women may be on birth control, so they're able to spread out the cost of THOSE premiums to those with higher risk and pay for them. This isn't news. It's ALWAYS been happening. Whether or not we've been paying via tax dollars for government funded healthcare for those who are in need, or private healthcare that is purchased on our own/through our employers. Everyone pays, it's a fact of life, but yes, that money gets spread out into that risk pool, and it pays for the higher risk, because they're banking on the healthy people NOT getting sick, or having to pay out claims for them.

Granted, the healthier you are, you do have perks. You tend to have better policies, smaller/no deductibles, low/no co-pays for medication should you need them, and lower premiums altogether.