I can't eat back my exercise calories

Options
I have a problem that some days it is literally impossible to eat back even half my exercise calories. It makes me feel physically sick to try and I don't exactly have an issue with appetite. The problem is I walk 40 minutes (quickly) each day to college, sometimes twice, and when I get there my degree is in violin performance so I would usually practice 800 calories worth in a day (5 hours). Then if I also do 30-40 minutes of a workout that day I can end up needing to eat over 2000 calories - to put it in context I am meant to be eating 1200 without exercise and trying to lose 1lb a week. Other days I will literally do no exercise at all and those days I tend to hit bang on 1200 or there abouts.

I am worried about this starvation mode I have read about but I can't see that it can be an issue for me...? I have a BMI of 25.7 and on days when I burn a lot of calories I do eat more, but I just can't see the point of making myself feel ill from eating just to get those calories back on. Besides, I am trying to lose weight and I worked hard for those burnt calories! Should I change my aim to lose 2lb a week so it allows me fewer calories, or is it ok to accept that if I am burning 800 calories on violin practice that I don't eat them back (as it's not proper exercise, just a side effect of studying)?

Thanks for any feedback. I am a bit at a loss here and new to dieting and calories so any help is really appreciated.

Replies

• lnelson88
    lnelson88 Posts: 64
    Options
    I need to know the answer to this too.
  • lcheese1984
    Options
    I didnt know that we were supposed to eat back the exercise calories.......
  • terri0702
    terri0702 Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    I need to know to...
  • katcornwell
    Options