One Month Keto Challenge

I am trying something I've never tried before: Trying to find ketosis through high fat/protein and low carbs.
I have 30 Lbs to lose and Looking for a buddy/buddies who is/are interested in being my accountability partners/s and join me in this one month keto challenge.
I've read and heard amazing things but I'm new to the process and it requires discipline and precision. It would be great to work towards this goal with support!

Replies

• Why one month?
  • kgeyser
    kgeyser Posts: 22,505 Member
    I would look into one of the keto groups here and talk to them before giving this a go, especially if you are only trying 30 days, since the first two weeks of low carb/keto are supposedly really rough with the "carb flu."

Most of the people in the groups have been doing low carb/keto for awhile and would be able to give you good advice on how to set your macros (for example, I believe it is supposed to be high fat, moderate protein, and low carb, not high fat/protein) and the pros and cons of this eating style. @Ladymiseryali and @hookilau are two posters I've seen around who have done low carb/keto long term, and are very knowledgeable, upfront, and honest about what to expect.

If you do a search under groups, you should be able to find them, I can't remember the names off the top of my head, but someone else might be able to pop in with a link.

• GaleHawkins
    GaleHawkins Posts: 8,160 Member
    It took me two months to get the carbs down to <50 grams a day. It will take 30-60 days to become keto adapted (running on ketones vs main only glucose.

The first month was rough for me but some if it may have been due to adjusting to 1000-1500 calories a day of coconut oil. Initially my objective was pain relief using the coconut oil then later I learned about ketosis and evolved to VLC when I cut the carbs to cut some of the pain.