Bulking for the First Time

Options
This is my first attempt at bulking. Just curious what others have done in their first months of bulking? 5 lbs? 10 lbs? or more? Wondering what people have had that has worked for them.

Replies

• cacamanonetwothree
    Options
    Dude its better to set a time phrame with your goal like that its exact. My first seriius bulk i gained 50 pounds in about a year. That was focusing on getting as many meals as possible in, about 5-7 meals, thats what it takes when you kill your workouts. If you havent watched Rich Piana on youtube, i encourage u to look him up, he knows how to get HUGE.
  • DopeItUp
    DopeItUp Posts: 18,771 Member
    Options
    You'll put on more in the first month especially due to water weight (just like you lose a lot your first month of weight loss). I think I put on 15lbs my first month which was startling, but within a few months at the same calories I wasn't even gaining at all even more. Gotta play it by ear and settle in for the long haul.
  • beastcompany
    beastcompany Posts: 230 Member
    Options
    This is my first attempt at bulking. Just curious what others have done in their first months of bulking? 5 lbs? 10 lbs? or more? Wondering what people have had that has worked for them.

During your first month, you will have no accurate idea of weight gain balance due to drastic variances in water retention during metabolic adjustment to higher caloric intake.

After around the 3-4 week range you should have a better balance with your new intake and can begin determining accurate weight fluctuations.

Target weight development should fall around the .5lb/week range, with very lean, or "skinny" guys usually having room to push upwards of the 1lb/week range and still maintain leanness throughout the process.
  • HawkTheKnight
    Options