Input on reducing sugar?

Options
Hello everyone! I am a novice to this site, but I like it already. :#

I wanted to ask about your advice on incorporating a cleaner diet. I am incredibly... addicted to sugar. I've watched many documentaries, taken a nutrition class in the past, and count calories (1500-2000). Cutting back on sugar has been incredibly hard though. I would say I consume anywhere from 80-150 grams of sugar per day, and sugary foods make up about 60% of my diet. Because of this, I have sugar rushes, crashes, headaches, etc. Pretty much fed up with the lack of nutrition I'm providing myself. So, portioning/ calorie counting is not my problem, it's finding a way to replace the sugar.

If anyone has had a problem with sugar, what foods did you replace it with? Some people have gone cold turkey with a 30 grams or less, while some have done it gradually, which worked for you? I'm not afraid of protein, meat, fats. I would like some staple foods/ ingredients that satiate (I like a plate of spinach, or whole wheat bread with organic pb), and have helped you eat cleaner. I only have about 10 minutes to make/eat breakfast, but lunch/dinner I'm able to cook. I hope I was clear, I appreciate you taking the time to read this, and thank you in advance!

oidsh7unpg11.jpg
(My last sugar riddled meal of '14)

Replies

• SuggaD
    SuggaD Posts: 1,369 Member
    Options
    that looks so gross! (well to me anyway). lol

I don't do a lot of added sugar (or honey or maple syrup for that matter). I don't like things too sweet. I love waffles, pancakes, and french toast. I top them with fresh fruit, nuts, nut butters, and preserves (w/ no added sugar). I bake with over-ripened bananas and dates instead of sugar. I buy my nut butters in the natural variety (unsweetened). I eat my oatmeal with fresh fruit and nuts. I don't do sugary cereals at all.
  • JeffseekingV
    JeffseekingV Posts: 3,165 Member
    Options
    Where is that from? I'm from Seattle
  • H_Factor