Stopped smoking, gaining weight.

Options
I'm quite new to the exercise/healthy eating scene! I stopped smoking a couple of weeks ago and joined a gym with the money I'm saving.
I've been gymming about 4x1hr a week (I did nothing before). I'm not dieting as such (I like food too much lol) but I'm trying to cook proper meals with lean meat and lots of veg.
Since I've stopped smoking and started gymming I've noticed a slow but steady weight gain.
I don't want to have to start smoking again!!
Any advice would be appreciated in regards to exercise and diet! Thank you!

Replies

• never2bstopped
    never2bstopped Posts: 438 Member
    Options
    If you aren't tracking your food intake you will have a hard time stopping the scale movement.

You don't have to give up any food, you just have to account for it and adjust the quantity to match your goals. You can take this as slowly as you want, but till you start tracking you will feel like you don't know what to do when the scale goes up.
  • emdeesea
    emdeesea Posts: 1,823 Member
    Options
    jen19855 wrote: »
    I'm not dieting as such (I like food too much lol)

Well, that's why you're gaining. You can't out exercise a bad diet, even if it's healthy food.

You eat too much = you gain weight.

• jen19855
    jen19855 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    emdeesea wrote: »
    jen19855 wrote: »
    I'm not dieting as such (I like food too much lol)

Well, that's why you're gaining. You can't out exercise a bad diet, even if it's healthy food.

I know you're right, I'm a binger through and through lol.
    I don't really eat during the day but in the evening I have massive plate fulls.
    I really need to get my diet in order if I want to see any real difference :(
    As I said I'm still very new to this lol. I've gone for 29 years of just letting myself eat what I want lol. I just need a kick up the a** I think
  • jen19855
    jen19855 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    kace_kay wrote: »