not eating enough

Hi I am new to this calorie counting business. I have decided to loose some weight and change my eating habits. However I seem to be struggling to eat more than 1000 calories a day I am eating fruit which seems to send my sugar intake through the roof but I have been good at watching added suagrs I dont know if I am doing this right and weather it is going to be effective b help pleaee

Replies

• sandryc79
    sandryc79 Posts: 250 Member
    Eat more: lean protein, healthy fats and nuts. An oz of nuts a day easily adds calories and is great for you. Drink a glass or 2 of milk instead of water...adds calories and calcium/vitamin/protein.
  • Merkavar
    Merkavar Posts: 3,082 Member
    Struggling to eat over 1k why? Full? Poor? No appetite?

I find fruit to be high in calories.

Also what are your height weight gender etc

Are you meant to be eating 1200 where 1k is a little low or meant to be eating 1600 where 1k is very low.
  • Christine_72
    Christine_72 Posts: 16,049 Member
    edited March 2015
    Don't worry about going over sugar, excess sugar does not equal weight gain, excess calories do.
    If there is a sugar hell I have got a one way ticket because i go over mfp's sugar recommendations most every day, purely because of milk and fruit, not sugary cakes etc etc

Also if you are struggling to eat over 1000 calories, how did you become overweight in the first place? Obviously at some stage you were consuming a lot more than that....
  • mz_getskinny
    mz_getskinny Posts: 258 Member
    Same thing happened to me at the beginning. It will pass! Just make sure you are logging accurately and peanut butter will be your best friend in the meantime ;)
  • Merkavar
    I suggest sustagen in milk. Milk, chocolate, vitamins and minerals, how could you pass that up.

Or maybe some Greek yogurt with blue berries.

Maybe some cheese cubes.

This message was brought to you by the dairy farmers association of Australia :smiley:
  • girlviernes