Options

Replies

• Sarasmaintaining
    Sarasmaintaining Posts: 1,027 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    mokaiba wrote: »
    xLyric wrote: »
    I just got back from the store with my week's worth of food and was wondering if the $60 was a lot, so I thought I'd ask around and maybe see what other people had to say. If I round up to account for some lunches I already had at home, I'm eating roughly $9 a day. That seems like a lot for me, but it's mainly because I'm a student and don't make very much money. Obviously any replies will similarly be high/low depending on your own circumstances, but I guess I'm just curious now that I'm paying more attention to what I'm spending my money on.

- $10 chicken breast = 250g average each ~ 9 days worth (I use 3.5 of them a month ~ $35, so $105 for three months)
    - $12 Chia seed bag = 14g each day ~ lasts three months
    - $14 flaxseed bag = 13g each day ~ lasts three months
    - $12 five dozen egg = 7 eggs each day ~ 8.5 days worth (I use 3.5 of them a month ~ $42, so $126 for three months)
    - $6 five lbs baby carrot = 226g per day ~ (1lb=453g) 10 days worth (I use 3 a month ~ $18, so $54 or three months)
    - $48 protein powder 32g = 32g per day ~ 32 days ($144 for three months)

== $455 per three months
    so, around $151 per month
    which is around, $38 per week (close to $5.50 per day).
    :)

How big is your flax seed bag? I can get a pound of ground flax seed for around $4 at Meijer-you may be able to find a better deal someplace else, maybe Amazon? Same with chia seeds-I pay around $8 for these.

eta: if you're in the states check out Amazon-you can get Bobs Red Mill Chia seeds 4-pack for $37.39. That's for 4 pounds and free shipping :) Also some really good prices on flax seed there too.

• kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    Options