calories in fruit and veg???

Options
Hi all, im new to this, only been using MFP for a week now. However, i was amazed at why fruits and veg counted towards calories because when I did weight watchers in the past i was able to eat as much fruit and veg and they didn't count towards my daily points so any fruit and veg was zero points value.
I find it strange that it adds up when you eat veges as snacks and as part of a smoothie or dinner.

Replies

• skbrodie
    skbrodie Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    They add up, and quickly too!!!
  • stevencloser
    stevencloser Posts: 8,911 Member
    Options
    If fruit didn't have calories I'd eat a lot more of them.
    They have calories though, they get digested and used for energy for your body. That's why you should count them.
  • Calorie_Counting_K
    Calorie_Counting_K Posts: 48 Member
    Options
    Yes,exactly surely they cant be that calorific!!?
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,573 Member
    Options
    Weight watchers gives you a lower calorie goal, and hopes that people will fill up on fruits and vegetables, so in a way some of those calories are accounted for in the program.

• whmscll
    whmscll Posts: 2,254 Member
    Options
    Most vegetables, except starchy ones, don't have many calories but fruits do. Fruits are very good for you but you cannot have as much as you want. You have to temember that WW's system of points is very different than counting actual calories.
  • linmeece
    linmeece Posts: 5 Member
    Options