Is a 1200 calorie day really realistic???? Is that what most of you are doing????

Options

Replies

• KellyLouiseGibson
    KellyLouiseGibson Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    I have been losing weight for 5 months now and have been on a calorie intake of 1340. I find it ok I am never hungry. I have lost 3 stone 3 pounds in that 5 months. Which is around 2 pounds a week. My goal has always been set to lose 2 pounds a week to. My stomach has shrunk so I can't actually eat big meals anymore I get to full. I also avoid carbs though bread and pasta etc.
  • AnitaSkipper
    AnitaSkipper Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    according to the nutritionist, NO. I mine was at 1200. I was exercising very little but still burning off enough that at the end of the day I was eating over 1200, burning it off and only had 600-900 to count. And I was gaining. She said I was starving. She said we need to set our goal at 1500. And get most of your calories from protein and complex carbs.
  • runrascal
    runrascal Posts: 53 Member
    Options
    I am tiny - 4'11" and currently 122lbs, aiming for 112. MFP won't go lower than 1200 which is a lot for my size, but it does allow me to go down to 1000 on my log. I aim for between 1000 - 1200 actual calories per day and try not to eat my exercise calories, so some days my net is coming in under 800. I have lost 8lbs in less than 4 weeks.
    My hubby started MFP a couple of weeks ago, he's pretty small too at 5'6" but at over 180lbs has a good bit to lose. MFP gave him 1500 per day which he manages fine and is losing weight. But when I started him on MFP I put him in as a sedentary worker (which he actually isn't!) and it came out at 1200, which was a bit shocking as it was the same as me. I soon realised I had made a mistake in the orginal information I entered.