How important is eating breakfast in the morning to weightloss?

Options
So, I am pretty new to this whole "lifestyle change" thing and although I don't know all that much yet, I am pretty excited to be learning different things. That being said, let's talk about breakfast! ha :)
I never eat breakfast in the morning because I am usually not hungry and also lacking time. I was talking to a colleague at work today and she voiced that not eating breakfast will ruin any chances of losing and keeping off weight!
Any thoughts on this? Will eating breakfast actually make a difference?

Replies

• diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    It is absolutely not important (assuming you don't have a medical need for breakfast). Eat it if you want. Skip it if you want.
  • I_Will_End_You
    I_Will_End_You Posts: 4,397 Member
    Options
    It's not important at all. Meal timing is irrelevant for weight loss. I skip breakfast, have a small (400ish calories) and 1400-1600 calorie dinners. It's all about personal preference and what you find sustainable.
  • jhard728
    jhard728 Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    Breakfast gets this crazy hype because a lot of people (myself included) feel very hungry later in the day and overeat if they skip breakfast leading to a calorie surplus at the end of the day. I am no scientist and there are some convincing studies that say that breakfast will get your metabolism going earlier in the day. I don't really buy it as your body is burning what it needs based on your activity levels (calories out).

I know others who do not eat breakfast and just drink a glass of water and can maintain their calories throughout the day without overeating and they lose weight. Diane is correct, your call.
  • SideSteel
    SideSteel Posts: 11,068 Member
    Options
    What's fundamentally important is for you to figure out whether or not breakfast makes it easier or harder for you to adhere to a given calorie and nutrient target.