Dilemma re body fat percentage

Options
So, I've been tracking my body fat using the Fitbit Aria scale for the past 3 months. In my journey, I've gone from 29%BF to 25%BF.

I recently bought SlimGuide Calipers and they brought my BF to 33.5%. I know Calipers are more accurate.

Here's the dilemma, what do I do!? Which do I use?! There's a significant difference between them! One puts me in average, and the other above average.

Replies

• Firefly0606
    Firefly0606 Posts: 366 Member
    Options
    You could try taking your measurements with a tape measure and using a body fat calculator based on measurements?
  • Merkavar
    Merkavar Posts: 3,082 Member
    Options
    Are calipers even that accurate.

They all seem like estimates.

I would probably go with the scale just because you have 3 months worth of data.

But have you looked at those bf% example images. Do you look like 25% or 35%?
  • heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    Calipers in the hands of an experienced trained person using 7-site method are more accurate, as long as the same level of hydrated body is presented to them.

You experienced and trained in using them?
    Are you using 7 site method?

Not accurate, easily at best 10% accuracy, likely worse.

Which means it overlaps with the 10% accuracy of your scale too.

Alls good.

As mentioned above - use measurement method too, and then average all these 5-10% accurate methods together.

Use the spreadsheet on my profile page - Weight loss calculator.
    Has Bodyfat calc that does exactly that, 2 measurement methods, place to put the scale reading, and skinfold measurements - averages them all together.
    Then a Progress tab to track the progress.
  • Sued0nim
    Sued0nim Posts: 17,456 Member
    Options
    heybales wrote: »
    Calipers in the hands of an experienced trained person using 7-site method are more accurate, as long as the same level of hydrated body is presented to them.

Alls good.