To all you low carb eaters

Options
2»

Replies

• MoiAussi93
    MoiAussi93 Posts: 1,948 Member
    Options
    So how many grams should I go for? I was watching the carbs a little then for some reason this week I went a bit crazy?
    I believe it varies a bit by person. I am new to keto, but I've been doing it for about a week and a half now. I tried just keeping net carbs under 50 grams, and that is low enough to put me in ketosis. Some people may be able to go a little higher (I didn't try a slightly higher level). Some need to go lower...I hear 20 grams fairly often. The point is I don't think there is one answer.

• MoiAussi93
    MoiAussi93 Posts: 1,948 Member
    Options
    I remember my appetite disappeared before I love that feeling! Right now I am struggling to stay under my goal eating an assortment of foods. I think I am going to give it a try my only problem is the veggies I eat a lot and I love them! Well I will make it work.
    You can still eat a lot of veggies, as long as you don't choose the starchy ones.

• superhockeymom
    superhockeymom Posts: 2,000 Member
    Options
    Thanks everyone I can't wait to start. Maybe tomorrow but I would need to shop so I guess Monday will work. Give me time to prepare.
  • superhockeymom
    Options
    So when I start should I ignore calories, adjust so I am eating a little more, or continue with the amount I am eating now? Is it possible to go low carb on 1200
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,395 MFP Moderator
    Options
    So when I start should I ignore calories, adjust so I am eating a little more, or continue with the amount I am eating now? Is it possible to go low carb on 1200

Is it possible yes, does it meet your goals.. depends. If you are exercising, you will probably need more than 1200 calories. With 40 lbs to lose, a goal of 1 - 1.5 lbs per week is probably ideal.
  • chaoticdreams
    chaoticdreams Posts: 447 Member
    Options