Short, relatively small women in long-term maintenance

Options

Replies

• clh72569
    clh72569 Posts: 280 Member
    Options
    About clothes... I shop everywhere, but I learned to sew. Especially hem.
  • segacs
    segacs Posts: 4,599 Member
    Options
    clh72569 wrote: »
    About clothes... I shop everywhere, but I learned to sew. Especially hem.

Me too. Well, I'm still learning. But I can do most basic hemming myself. I think it's a survival skill when you're our height, basically.
  • anna_jewel
    anna_jewel Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    I do a lot of shopping from old navy.ca, they ship for free if u spend $50 (even to the Yukon). They have petite clothes too. I am 30 yr old, and my maintanence calories us 1650, I tend to eat between 1600 and 2000 calories a day and have lost .3 these last couple weeks. I will figure out my cals though.
  • ilfaith
    ilfaith Posts: 16,769 Member
    Options
    Feel free to add me. I am 5'2.75 (of course those fractions count) with a small frame, and maintain between 100-105.

It does get frustrating sometimes when other people seem to lose weight eating more than my maintenance calories...whereas I gain if I go beyond 1200-1400...even when I do work out...which I do most days. Being in my mid-40s (and not getting any younger) doesn't help either.

Of course not only don't we get to eat as much as our bigger, taller friends, but we don't burn nearly as many calories through exercise. I have a friend who wears a Fitbit with HRM and after a class she'll be like "hey, I just burned 500 calories" and I know I didn't come anywhere near that even though we did the exact same workout.

I guess I am just fuel-efficient. Like a compact car.

And my wardrobe comes mostly from Banana and Loft, as their petite sizes usually work for me...of course they never have much inventory in-store, so I do a lot of online shopping.
  • zkhanman
    zkhanman Posts: 132 Member
    Options