Lean Cuisines ?

Options
So at the risk of sounding like a complete novice--- which I am ... are lean cuisines actually healthy? I have a pretty hectic schedule and I'm always running around. I eat lots of fruit and vegetables, but I sometimes crave pastas and I don't really have time to cook it. Opinions ?

Replies

• ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,579 Member
    Options
    If you're reaching your macro/micro nutrient needs with them included, and can sustain eating that way, then fine. The biggest issue with pre prepped foods is that they usually aren't nutritionally balanced.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness for 30 years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition

9285851.png
  • pearso21123
    pearso21123 Posts: 351 Member
    Options
    There's a pretty good review at http://www.livestrong.com/article/398688-how-healthy-are-lean-cuisine-frozen-dinners/. I think the biggest problem is the sodium content, but that's an issue with just about any processed foods. They have some good options with lots of veggies, low calories, and plenty of variety. And, since they're prepackaged, you know exactly how many calories you're consuming. I think I lost my first 50 pounds basically relying on Lean Cuisine (and other brands) until I learned to start cooking more from scratch. You can eat quite a bit more if you make it yourself, but it also takes more prep time which it sounds like you're short on.
  • seska422
    seska422 Posts: 3,217 Member
    Options
    I have a freezer full of them and they've been very helpful to me for portion control and convenience.

The macro balance in the flavors that I eat are quite close to the MFP default macro balance.
  • Kalikel
    Kalikel Posts: 9,626 Member
    Options