The more I exercise, the more my body adapts to calories and I can't slim further.

Options
Hi everyone -- I've been a Zumba teacher for three years, and I've noticed how I can exercise myself to oblivion (and exhaustion) and still have thick legs. I don't just mean like big calves, but my whole body seems to have what my brother calls a 'sheath of fat', the shakiest of it being on my legs. I am back on MFP because I like to see all the ways I sneak in food without noticing - I appreciate the self-accountability. My real question is whether one can REALLY just add back into one's daily calorie goal the calories burned? I am often under my daily goal numbers, and MFP cheerfully tells me that in 5 weeks I'll weigh some super dream-like number on the scale. If that were true, I would weigh it! So what gives? Should I ignore the calories burned? Should I even bother documenting the daily exercise?

Replies

• LAWoman72
    LAWoman72 Posts: 2,846 Member
    Options
    I can never add back in all the calories I've supposedly burned based on MFP's calculations. I usually only eat up to X amount maximum no matter how much I exercise and how many calories I've supposedly accrued. For example, yesterday, according to MFP, I accrued 348 extra calories from exercise. I "ate back" about 100 which brought me up to still under 1500. Not everyone has this issue - some people eat back all their calories and lose. But I suppose some people don't. I'm one of those and perhaps you are too.

How about eating back only, say, half of your workout calories and see if you start losing again, and then experimenting and playing around with the number you can get away with, on averge?
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options