Binge eaters out there needing support

Replies

• Myheartstrue
    Myheartstrue Posts: 5 Member
    I would like to add you I am also battling binge eating, and would love support. I havent figured out how to add people yet new to MFP.
  • Lam3ro58
    Lam3ro58 Posts: 2 Member
    Hi,my name is Bob, and I know where your coming from I've had a problem with binge eating all my life and because of it I've experience many health problems Like Lymphodema,(swelling of the lower llim
  • msdaniellesmith
    msdaniellesmith Posts: 2 Member
    Im new to MFP and I definitely am a binge eater. Last night was my first time being successful in not indulging. I've definitely experienced those regretful days. Is it weird that they usually happen on weekends?
  • ziesergirl_66
    ziesergirl_66 Posts: 1,002 Member
    edited March 2016
    newmeadow wrote: »
    How can people consistently binge and not gain weight? It surprises me to see binge eaters at a healthy weight.

My own experience....when I'm in my binge mode (weeks, months, years) I am 30-40 lbs heavier, and will maintain that weight give or take 5-10 lbs. My body gets used to those calories (3,000 -7,000) and my activity level stays the same.

When I am NOT bingeing, (eating 1200 - 1600 cals a day) I am 30-40 lbs lighter, which usually means I am restricting..not so much calories, but certain foods. The idea of a 'new habit is formed in 3 weeks or 30 days', does not ring true for me. I have done very well....say 4 mos, 8 mos at a time, over many, many years. Then I slip back into horrible habits, same previous habits that have plagued me for over 20 yrs. It's a vicious cycle. And even when I am 30-40 lbs lighter, I am still NOT at a healthy weight. Maybe mid-high end of over weight.