Intermittent fasting

Options
Hi I'm not new to the fit life and the gym but I have just started using intermittent fasting and I am seeing phenomenal results. I have been using it now for 6 days and I have lost about 4 pounds so far. Has anyone used or is using intermittent fasting and can share their tips and stories?

Replies

• Maxematics
    Maxematics Posts: 2,287 Member
    Options
    Four pounds in six days? Some of that is most likely water weight. If it isn't and you continue to lose at that rate, you're going to want to eat more unless you're 300+ pounds, as you're sacrificing lean body mass which is the exact opposite of what you want. I've been doing a 16:8 IF split for the past six months and I love what it's done for me. It definitely changed my relationship with food, my cravings, and my hunger levels. Are you doing a 16-20:8-4 daily split or a 5:2 weekly split?
  • StoryOfBella
    StoryOfBella Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    In the past I have lost 90+ lbs using IF. I didn't realize that was what I was doing at the time. Because of life/work schedule I was only eating one meal a day. I didn't change what I ate. I ate whatever I wanted. At the time I wasn't actively trying to lose weight so I never really figured out that it was technically IF that was causing the weight loss. Now I'm back at it and using the same method.
  • fry5150
    fry5150 Posts: 34 Member
    Options
    It really depends on if IF fits your lifestyle or not. IF I'd great for me because I work 12 hours a day 5 days a week so I sometimes forget to eat and those are my low days. My wife works out 6 days a week and it's a hard core workout. When she tries IF she usually ends up in a binge because she's so hungry. So it contradicts itself.
  • shabaity
    shabaity Posts: 791 Member
    Options