Running question

Options
_MissBrie
_MissBrie Posts: 114 Member
edited March 2016 in Fitness and Exercise
So I have been doing interval training on the treadmill, 30"/30" and I usually have it set at about an 8. The other day, I decided to just jog for 15 minutes at the end of a workout because I had some time to kill and the energy to do it, and a few minutes in, I noticed my legs and especially my knees were killing me! I never have this problem with the intervals, so any idea as to why I would have knee pain jogging at a 5.5? The next day was painful to walk as well.
I was thinking that I may not have as good of form while jogging, or maybe there is greater impact? I'm not really sure, I'm pretty new to the world of running. Any idea on what could possibly cause this? I do have good running shoes, I was fitted for at a running store, but they are a little old..
Any help would be much appreciated!

Replies

• jbirtch1995
    jbirtch1995 Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    Sometimes knee problems come from bad form. If it keeps up make an appointment with a physiotherapist and they'll help.
  • NikolaosKey
    NikolaosKey Posts: 410 Member
    Options
    Concrete. Its harder than treadmill, so the impact is harder. Try some grass or dirt road next or go to a stadium. And take it easy when running outdoors. Its harder but less boring and I prefer it. Put some ice on those knees

• Kanyon17
    Kanyon17 Posts: 156 Member
    Options
    Hi! I'm no expert but i've always been told to slowly increase my running time to make sure the body gets use to it and I don't hurt myself. The body as to get use to running for 'a long period' 30 sec to 15min is a huge increase. So you would have to work up slowly to a 15 min run. There's a lot of programs available online to help you with that (C25K for exemple).
  • _MissBrie
    Options