Did you get fat as a kid?

Options

Replies

• sarahthes
    sarahthes Posts: 3,252 Member
    Options
    Had a bad start--I was 10lbs14oz at birth AND my mom had untreated gestational diabetes. Still, I was upper end of normal or barely overweight until high school. Then I gained, stopped eating, lost to upper end of my healthy weight, then regained. I was still overweight (not quite obese) when I graduated, but I was also extremely active and had super muscular legs (martial arts & rugby) so my body fat was a bit lower than my weight would suggest.

Then I went to college and gained 40lbs my freshman year. And then gained a bit more, got married, and yo-yoed between 240-275 lbs depending on the season and how much money we had. I was 250 when I started losing the first time. Got pregnant at 204 and ate all the things. 271 when I delivered. Down to 234 when I got pregnant again. I think I was around 260 when I delivered. Baby is 15 months and I'm about 236. I'm not having more kids so I should manage to reach goal this time!
  • 12Sarah2015
    12Sarah2015 Posts: 1,117 Member
    Options
    No
  • Mouse_Potato
    Mouse_Potato Posts: 1,495 Member
    Options
    Nope. I was super skinny. I was one of those kids who never wanted to stop moving, always running, jumping, or climbing something. Hunger was an annoyance to be quickly fixed so I could move on. I'm still like that. I just took a week off from work and spent every day moving and eating very little. It is the sedentary lifestyle my job forces upon me that encourages weight gain. I was not made to sit at a desk all day. :(
  • MeiannaLee
    MeiannaLee Posts: 338 Member
    Options
    Yes my mom is a fat enabler.
  • xtina315
    xtina315 Posts: 218 Member
    Options
    Nope. Was actually under weight until I had my first child. And have been over weight since then.
  • cathipa
    cathipa Posts: 2,991 Member
    Options