caffeine Pills yay or nay? and why?

Options
Would you/do you take them before your work out for extra energy? I am new to lifting(since Jan of this yr) and I find I am more tired on lift days(4-5X a week)

I am thinking of buying some pills, but open to other things I can take to boost my energy during workouts that wont have me up for the rest of the day.

My workouts have gone up to 1.5hrs sometimes 2 (not including 10-15min TOTAL rest time..varies)

Thanks for the help!

Replies

• PaulaWallaDingDong
    PaulaWallaDingDong Posts: 4,641 Member
    Options
    I know a guy who lifts and loads up on caffeine before his workouts. He gets all amped up, has a great workout, but then is still completely spent afterward and basically crashes for the rest of the night. Maybe changing your diet on lifting days will help you to have sustained energy after
  • Veryana
    Veryana Posts: 122 Member
    Options
    I take caffeine pills in morning for school, I hate how coffee and tea tastes so I rather have my caffeine as a pill. I don't need it for a workout but I'm just not a morning person haha :D
  • BellaSOUL11
    BellaSOUL11 Posts: 49 Member
    Options
    cecsav1 wrote: »
    Coffee tastes better ;)

I know! I love it, but my 2 cups are early am and I hit the gym 4-5hrs later...so its gone..or feels that way.
  • KateTii
    KateTii Posts: 886 Member
    Options
    Get some pre-workout... most of them have caffeine and will give the same effect as caffeine pills but they also have a lot of other good stuff in there for your workout.
  • pdxhak
    pdxhak Posts: 383 Member
    Options
    I workout very early so using our espresso machine is not an option. I take a 200mg caffeine pill every morning before working out. I do not get jittery or crash afterwards. There are 100 pills in the bottle and cost around $8 shipped.
  • Muscleflex79
    Muscleflex79 Posts: 1,917 Member
    Options