Discover what's new & improved in the MyFitnessPal app!
We’re dedicated to helping you achieve your health and nutrition goals. And our newest features and updates? They do just that. Learn how we're making tracking your progress easier, faster, and more motivating than ever.

Is there any point in doing ab exercises with a big belly?

Options

Replies

• ChubRub93
    ChubRub93 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I'm by no means an expert on this stuff, but in my experience, ab exercises had the opposite effect vs what you're worried about. For me at least they've always toned my tum, even with a layer of chub on top!
  • kaybabii08
    kaybabii08 Posts: 31 Member
    edited September 2016
    Options
    ChubRub93 wrote: »
    I'm by no means an expert on this stuff, but in my experience, ab exercises had the opposite effect vs what you're worried about. For me at least they've always toned my tum, even with a layer of chub on top!

What do you mean by toned? Like made it smaller or less jiggly?
  • canadianlbs
    canadianlbs Posts: 5,199 Member
    edited September 2016
    Options
    kaybabii08 wrote: »
    doing ab workouts while you're still fat will just make your stomach stick out further because you're making your ab muscles bigger behind fat.

i don't think i've ever seen that. abs don't bulk up and bulge like biceps or quads, no matter how strong they get. i do sometimes feel like i'm getting a little bit thick through the waist when you face me head on, but that's mostly on me for being so awful lazy about side-to-side stretching etc.

for other people i actually feel like with women, their midsection is almost always the first thing you notice when they post early progress pictures. doesn't always show right away in other areas, but i always notice their waists beginning to shrink and develop that curve.
  • jeanninemolly
    jeanninemolly Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Any muscle you gain helps to burn fat.
  • hydeaway62