CrossFit... just started any other newbies?

Lost weight on my own by using the 24 hour gyms. Now I feel like I need to step it up so I joined a CrossFit gym. I have my first instructional session on Wednesday. I will have to admit watching one of the CrossFit classes was very intimidating. I've never done this before I'm 45 years old but I am going to give it a try.

Replies

• Sara1791
    Sara1791 Posts: 760 Member
    Just started in September. I'm 45. Everything is scalable; you will be able to do some version of pretty much everything right from the beginning. & it's a lot of fun having something different to do every workout.
  • deego14
    deego14 Posts: 79 Member
    I started 5 weeks ago and on day 1 I thought I was going to throw up.... week 1-3 were the hardest but once I got into the later part of week 3-5 I was excited to get to class everyday.

Like sara1790 said everything can be modified. Remember no one is paying attention to what your doing because they are too busy working hard on themselves. Do your best every time and your best will become better each time . :) good luck!!!
  • Tucker3306
    Tucker3306 Posts: 54 Member
    Good luck with your goals!
  • Fauldsy_C
    Fauldsy_C Posts: 4 Member
    Started Crossfit in April 2016... I am going 5 times a week, love every minute of it (even when i'm laying on the ground exhausted), my weight has stayed the same but my body is starting to see changes like never before.
    My wife and I are 44 & 45 and love the group work out atmosphere... motivated to keep up with the young kids in the class. Keep at it!
  • GiddyupTim
    GiddyupTim Posts: 2,819 Member
    edited November 2016
    Crossfit can be really fun.
    I find the gym gets pretty stale and boring quickly because you just do the same exercises, same sets, over and over. Crossfit you get to do something different every day -- and sometimes you get to jump and run and climb, and sometimes you lift heavy weights.