Women over 40, wanting to lose 20 lbs, support/motivation/success?

Options

Replies

• utahmomof10
    utahmomof10 Posts: 133 Member
    edited January 2017
    Options
    I'm a bit late to the party, but I'd love to join for some support and accountability. I'm 42 year old, 5'2", and currently 146 pounds, working my way down to somewhere between 120 and 130. I have 10 kids ages 3 to 22, with 7 of them at home (ages 3 to 17) and we homeschool them all with the help of a local homeschool co-op with friends. My fitness journey has been one with many interruptions for pregnancies and recoveries, with my weight increasing with each baby. I was 100 pounds before my first baby, and have absolutely no expectation of ever being that weight again. After baby #7 I got down to 117 pounds, but even that is lower than I want to go again, as I have since put on more muscle than I had then.

I started lifting weights at the end of 2014 at 40 years old when my baby was a year old, and started CrossFit at the beginning of 2016. I am truly in the best shape of my life right now and not looking back. I've been taking it slow on the weight loss, not wanting to lose too much muscle/strength as a result of losing pounds. However, I've been sitting at right around 150-152 pounds (my heaviest ever outside of pregnancy) since last May and I'm just tired of the muffin top and not being able to see my muscles. So a couple of weeks ago, I started at a bit more aggressive of a calorie deficit using homemade meal replacement shakes for breakfast and lunch, and watching my macros pretty carefully. At this point I'm willing to back track a bit on my gains if necessary to shed the extra padding. The strength will come back.

Anyway, sorry for the novel. Hope to be able to cheer y'all on as well as benefit from your energy and encouragement.
  • kelssskay
    kelssskay Posts: 11 Member
    Options