Kicking the diet soda habit - how long?

Options
13»

Replies

• jfrederick99
    jfrederick99 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I myself have decided to kick the diet soda habit and have settled on fizzy mineral water and LaCroix water. I realized that I feel satisfied with the fizz and can curb the diet soda cravings that way.
  • Commander_Keen
    Commander_Keen Posts: 1,179 Member
    Options
    Clawsal wrote: »
    I have been drinking coke zero every day for 5 years and it has taken a toll on my teeth (I had cavities!) and I am worried about my bones in the future too.

I quit cold turkey and two weeks later I still want to drink coke.

So for those of you who have quit: how long until the "cravings" stopped?
    What was helpful?
    And for motivation, what were some benefits of quitting?

that depends on you.. How many cans/bottles of soda do you have perday?
    what ever it is , just do 1 less for one week.
    Then on week 2 - do 2 less, until you can live off of 1 can of soda per day.
    after that try sparkling water, of some shape or sort.
  • MySlimGoals
    MySlimGoals Posts: 754 Member
    Options
    I've given it up several times. Sometimes I get huge cravings that go on for weeks, and sometimes no cravings. I'm currently off Coke Zero with no cravings. I always go cold turkey - otherwise I just can't stop. This time I'm doing plenty of healthy eating and lots of water. I've got lots of healthy snacks to nibble on and Coke Zero isn't really entering my thoughts.
  • Christine_72
    Christine_72 Posts: 16,049 Member
    Options
    For motivation: I've read that diet drinks devastate your gut's microbiome, leading to all kinds of problems.
    I've also read that the artificial sweetener can spike your blood sugar. That makes no scientific sense initially, but evidently there's something to it.