1959 calories a day! Yikes.

Options
Hello,

I am currently training with my personal trainer three times a week. My goal is to lose 50 pounds. My personal trainer says that in order to do so I must eat 1959 cal per day. Since I am new to this, I am very hesitant in eating that much food. I have currently been eating 1200 cal per day and I don't see any changes in my weight loss so far. Has anyone done something like this before where they have eaten more and seen positive results?

Replies

• estherdragonbat
    estherdragonbat Posts: 5,283 Member
    Options
    Well, my starting weight was 254 lbs and I'm a 45-year-old woman standing 5'3". MFP gave me an initial calorie goal of 1720 and I did lose weight. Five months and 41 lbs later, my calories have been revised to 1520 and the weight is still coming off. (And I've become more active and usually eat back about half of the calories I burn off. If I don't, I get hungry.)
  • cmtigger
    cmtigger Posts: 1,450 Member
    edited March 2017
    Options
    How long have you been eating 1200, and how did you choose that number?

I have been eating around 1600 a day and losing. I started at 173 and I'm around 165 now.
  • nowine4me
    nowine4me Posts: 3,985 Member
    Options
    What's is your height/weight? I'm 5-7, 150 and run 5 miles 5x per week plus lifting and Pilates. I maintain at 2000, so for me, that would be a really slow loss.
  • jen_092
    jen_092 Posts: 254 Member
    edited March 2017
    Options
    It does seem like a lot - but we'd need to know your age, height, etc. Go to a TDEE calculator or two and explore the numbers you get.

For me, I would probably maintain eating about 1900 calories. I am 24, female, lightly active, and 5'7. I've been losing by eating 1600 calories and for a while I was losing eating 1400.