Breast feeding and dieting??

I'm a newb at this lol any advice or tips would be great :) thanks!

Replies

• bathsheba_c
    bathsheba_c Posts: 1,873 Member
    Hi! So, a baby eats 500-600 calories of milk a day. If you're breastfeeding, those calories can come from 3 sources: you can eat more; your body can take them from your fat reserves; or your supply can drop. Which of those happens to you is an individual thing. I know people (myself included) who can't lose weight at all while breastfeeding. I know others who can lose all but the last 5 lbs. Right now, I'm on here to just make sure I don't gain weight from breastfeeding. :)
  • IrisFlute
    IrisFlute Posts: 88 Member
    I lost almost all my baby weight from breastfeeding, and I was NOT limiting my food consumption. Congrats on nursing your baby - that's such a good way to start off your child's nutrition!
  • candy_celine
    candy_celine Posts: 2 Member
    New member here! Hi everyone :) I'm exclusively breastfeeding and planning on doing that for a year-2 but want to start losing at least a pound a week :) my baby #2 is 3 months old and as of yesterday I start doing 30 minutes walk hoping to achieve my weight goal. Good luck to you all mamas
  • Ashleymarie4464
    Ashleymarie4464 Posts: 8 Member
    Hey Ladies, new member here too! I'm a 29 yr old second time mom! Exclusively breastfeeding and looking to lose the remaining 40 pounds that I gained during pregnancy. I gained a total of 65 and my baby is now a month old. For two weeks now I have been eating roughly 1650 calories a day and it's had no negative impact on my milk supply. I have two weeks left until I'm cleared by my doctor for exercise! Currently weigh 204, hoping to get my to my pre-pregnancy weight of 165.
  • Leah_62803
    Leah_62803 Posts: 292 Member
    edited April 2017
    I'm a mother of 3 and still breastfeeding my 17 month old.