Gain muscle, lose fat. Possible?

Options
2»

Replies

• moonstroller
    moonstroller Posts: 210 Member
    Options
    When I started lifting years ago my starting weight was 144 pounds, very lean. After about a year of dedicated lifting, up to the point I injured my knee, I had gotten up to 178 pounds and less than 7% body fat.

It just takes time, don't get discouraged and give up, stick with what you're doing and you'll get where you want to be physically.
  • PinkamenaD8
    PinkamenaD8 Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    I think your goal would be a recomposition. If you're underweight maybe it's better to gain muscle first and then get lean.

It's possible to loss fat and gain muscle for beginners having an small deficit of 5-10%, no need for a surplus, aslong as you hit the protein needed 1.6 to 1.8 per lb of bodyweight. This is more complicated than just bulk and cut but you don't need excess calories just enough.

If you're eating enough protein what @heybales points might be the reason you're not seeing progress, that's why the programs like stronglifts are a good place to start, they've good compound excercises and follow a progresive weight overload.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    Monday - arm day(coz everyone else is doing chest) + HIIT(one minute sprint + one minute jog)
    Tuesday - chest and core
    Wednesday - recovery day
    Thursday - shoulder and back
    Friday - legs
    Saturday - HIIT (UPPER BODY)
    Sunday-recovery day

HIIT while fasting coz it helps to burn extra bit of fat(glycosen stores are depleted) only taking my BCAA at that time(insulin level is less, growth harmone level is high)

Sets - 3 ( aint able to do 4) coz i do time bound set, around 30-45 seconds more than NORMAL SET TIME.
    Helps to release more lactic acid which in turn helps to increase T- level.

Mixture of an awful routine for your status/goals and a whole load of woo.