Rice cookers?

Options

Replies

• lucerorojo
    lucerorojo Posts: 790 Member
    Options
    I am an excellent cook and make a lot of gourmet meals. I poo-pooed the rice cooker for years, because you can make it in a pot. But now I would not want to live without it, and the rice is perfect EVERY TIME. I live in a small apartment now and the rice cooker was something I bought specifically when I wanted to start losing weight. I can't keep a lot of pots, so I really have only one that I could cook rice in, and I was avoiding it because it would always be a lot of work to clean--and I couldn't cook some other things because the rice would be in it. With the rice cooker, I don't have to watch it and it is easier to clean. I can take a shower and get dressed while my rice is cooking. I work weird hours and have to take dinner to work, so rice with vegetables or meat/fish is an easy meal.
  • Ree13x
    Ree13x Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    I grew up on a steady diet of white rice literally every meal (cooked the persian way where you steam it in a saucepan as decreed by my VERY persian father). I am now in love with my little basic cheap rice cooker. It's WAY easier to use and the warm feature is amazing for steaming and best of all there's no need to mind it as aggressively as other methods. I've had zero issues with the cheap model since it turns out perfectly steamed rice for me every time, and no desire to upgrade. there are also many recipes for other things that can be cooked in rice cookers besides rice or other grains. definitely a worthwhile purchase.
  • kittybenn
    kittybenn Posts: 444 Member
    Options
    I have this Aroma rice cooker: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007WQ9YNO/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    $30 and it's fantastic. I love that it cooks brown rice perfectly. I like to experiment with different stocks and seasonings. So convenient.
  • Patsycervantes
    Patsycervantes Posts: 15 Member
    edited September 2017