Advice on going low carb?

Options
So I've been using MFP off and on for several years. I've struggled with my weight since the birth of my first daughter in 2005, prior to that I weighed 135 lbs. I just had another baby in may and I'm at my heaviest (post baby) at 232 lbs! I know I have a long way to go. I'm pretty sure the best way for me to lose the weight is going low carb..my question is being that I'm 232 lbs and 5 ft 3, what should I be restricting my carbs too? Also should I be counting total carbs or net carbs? Thanks!

Replies

• lemurcat12
    lemurcat12 Posts: 30,886 Member
    Options
    It really depends on what works for you. There's a huge range of low carb from mildly/moderately low (some would call 40-30-30 low--I'd call it moderate--or under 150 g low or lowish) to maybe under 100 g to, of course, keto, which IMO is anything under 50 g net for most people, but some do super-duper low under 20 or even close to none.

What I'd advise (as someone who likes a lowish carb diet and has tried keto and might again) is counting and understanding where you are now and then experimenting with lowering carbs from that.

As for net vs gross, if you aren't in the US or Canada, it's probably the same.

If you are in the US or Canada (I'm in Chicago personally), net is what matters for keto, really. What I do is use gross (because it's easier) if I have a low carb/not keto kind of goal (really I just eat fewer carbs and see where I land, but right now I'm kind of aiming for under 100 g total). When doing keto I do focus on net (but also keep net at around 35 or so, because I personally think vegetables are extremely important and tend to find it hard to go lower and have the vegetables I want).

Hope that helps.