50lb Goal Weight Loss Help

alexxazt
alexxazt Posts: 23 Member
edited December 2017 in Health and Weight Loss
I am at 180lbs, 5’6”, female, 20 years old and my goal weight would be around 130-145lbs.
I have lost and gained weight for about 4 years and it’s frustrating. I am now at my highest at 180lbs.
I am not a newbie at lifting or exercising, and I am not a newbie to nutrition.

But here’s the thing, I have been OBSESSED with researching, googling, YouTubing on how to lose weight, what’s the best approach, what’s myth and fact, vegan? Paleo? IIFYM? Intuitive eating?
Plant Based people say meat causes cancer and calories don’t matter at all, so eat all you want, paleo people say Legumes are the plague.
And then I would go on Pinterest, Instagram, and YouTube spending hours watching people’s transformation stories and how they did it and what the suggest.
I’ve tracked calories and macros before but it’s sooo hard for me to mentally get back into it, as I dislike logging in myfitnesspal.
If I rreeeeeaaaalllllyyyyy HAVE to track calories and macros again, I’ll consider doing it.
It’s getting annoying and I wanted to ask you guys here because you are the only people who I know don’t give BS answers who try to sell something in the process.

So here is my question.
How do you lose weight and be healthy?

Is it really just:
Caloric Deficit + Whole Foods?

Is it fine to be in a caloric Deficit and eat mainly fruits, vegetables, some protein, Legumes, grains, fats, and an occasional chocolate as long as within calories?
Do I have to do the whole:
You have to eat a lot of protein, otherwise you’ll shrivel up.
You have to lift weights, otherwise you’ll look skinny fat.

Can I just cycle(bicycle) 2-3x a week and do HIIT body weight circuits 2-3x a week?

I guess overall, does this work and is this effective for losing 50lbs in 5-6 months:

Eat Whole Foods (fruits, vegetables, Legumes, grains, fats, and some protein w/ occasional treats)
Caloric Deficit
Cycle 2-3x/Week