Working out in the AM

Options
I’m a school teacher so my days are busy, when I get home I have lesson planning to do and when that’s over I just want to relax!!

I want to start working out in the morning so that I don’t miss my workouts.

Any tips?? Thanks!!!

Replies

• DocJayDee
    DocJayDee Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    I have to get everything ready the night before ( clothes, pre workout food, post workout food, lunch, work clothes, etc.) It really helps if I have a fun workout planned. I do the classes at the gym, so getting up for 545 spin is worth it rather than just doing my own thing at the gym.
  • crysgabriela
    crysgabriela Posts: 34 Member
    Options
    I used to wake up at 5 am so I could get a workout in before work. It was really hard to do but I realized I felt so much better after the workout and I had crazy amounts of energy throughout the day. Plus, it is also great to know that your workout is already done for the day.

Put a few alarms on your phone just in case you don't wake up the first time.
  • AllanMisner
    AllanMisner Posts: 4,140 Member
    Options
    Let me second what DocJayDee said, prepare the night before.

Beyond that, shift your bedtime forward an hour or so to ensure you get enough sleep. If you are one to struggle to get up with an alarm, place it across the room so you have to get up to turn it off (spouses don't like this all that much, but hey, this you about you).

Make sure you warm up before you get into the workout. Most group classes do a good job of this, but take it upon yourself to warm up before their warmup if you aren't getting where you need to be.

Enjoy yourself. A good morning workout can set the tone for the rest of the day and give you even more energy.

Allan Misner
    NASM Certified Personal Trainer
    Host of the 40+ Fitness Podcast
  • hesn92
    hesn92 Posts: 5,967 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options