Am I doing Keto the right way

Options
I am just starting out and have a horrible headache. Are my percentages low enough? Carbs 13% fats 70% and protein 18% .its not always like this but I just don’t know if I am eating enough of fats

Replies

• goalsforever03
    goalsforever03 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    I messed up ! For today my protein is 13% and carbs are 18%
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    keto flu...you need to super bump your sodium up
  • goalsforever03
    Options
    My sodium is 2887mg .. not enough ??
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    My sodium is 2887mg .. not enough ??

I don't do keto, but I know some here say they're eating around double the RDA...like 4,000-5,000 mg
  • FlyingMolly
    FlyingMolly Posts: 490 Member
    Options
    I keep my net carbs between 5-10% of my calories, so you might be in the zone depending on how many of your carbs are accounted for by fiber. (Total carbs - fiber) x 4 should be under 10% of your total kcals; people go lower but that’s enough to keep me in ketosis.
  • lemurcat12
    lemurcat12 Posts: 30,886 Member
    Options
    Yeah, keto flu -- sodium may help, but sometime you have to just get through it. You didn't cut caffeine or anything at the same time, did you?

Check out this group for great advice: http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/394-low-carber-daily-forum-the-lcd-group

Regarding your macros, depends on total calories, but I peeked at your diary for the last couple of days and the protein is REALLY low. No reason to lower protein on keto, with a 1200 cal goal (which might be too low too, depending on stats), I'd think around 25% or 30% might be better, but certainly more than what you have now.