Funny things actually-fit people say

Options

Replies

• not_a_runner
    not_a_runner Posts: 1,343 Member
    Options
    I started lifting with a friend who was a PT/recreational bodybuilder. Looked great and was quite strong. I learned a lot and would definitely not be where I am today without him.. However he said some "bro science" which I think back and laugh about.
    -If you do cardio (running) you'll lose gains. Only walk if you must cardio.
    -You shouldn't train legs twice a week. If you are able to train them again you obviously didn't go hard enough the first time!!
    -You absolutely CANNOT train for strength AND hypertrophy at the same time!! If you want to powerlift you have to powerlift only.

There is probably more that I forgot, but those were some of the best.
  • fitoverfortymom
    fitoverfortymom Posts: 3,452 Member
    Options
    @CJ_Holmes I think it can be used either way when using the button. "Woo" as a concept (not the button) is the #fakenews of the weight loss and fitness world. I mean, what's NOT confusing about that? :D
  • Amerek412
    Amerek412 Posts: 74 Member
    Options
    rbfdac wrote: »
    I'm confused about why this is funny... The body becomes incredibly efficient at doing the same thing every day, so if she were to continue the same workout routine every day and every week, her body would eventually become "used" to it and would not continue to show results.

I re-read the post and it seems like you read it as she had to switch the DAYS around to confuse the body, but I read it as she has to switch the ROUTINE around to "confuse the body", which is essentially true.

So yes, I suppose it's dumb if she thinks the day she does it on makes a difference, but if she's literally talking about switching up routine, she is correct.